Clear jel is undoubtedly a magic ingredient when it comes to cooking. Clear jel adds the perfect touch to recipes like none other. Unlike other fixing agents, clear jel is considered better. It is not only safe and poses no threat to health, but it also works with all sorts of ingredients. If you plan on working with acidic ingredients, clear gel is the solution.
The clear gel adds the perfect consistency to stews and gravies. However, if you can’t get your hands on clear gel, there are multiple alternatives. Continue reading to know about all the options you have.
Substitutes For Clear Jel
Cornstarch is the most famous thickening agent. If you can find any clear gel then cornstarch should be your next option. Unlike clear gel which thickens all mediums, cornstarch is ideal for liquid-based recipes. Cornstarch is never directly added to the gravy or stew. It is always first mixed into a paste and then added to the stew at high flame. The stew is cooked until it turns into a thick consistency.
Before you use corn starch as a replacement keep in mind that it turns the curry translucent rather than other thickening agents which make the stew opaque. If you’re not worried about the presentation of the recipe you’re cooking then add whatever alternative you can easily get your hands on.
2) Tapioca Starch
Tapioca starch is also used as a thickening agent in cooking. Tapioca starch is organic and is extracted from the roots of Cassava plants. Not only is Tapioca starch gluten-free, but it is also packed with micronutrients.
Use Tapioca starch if you’re looking for a healthy subsite instead of clear gel. The relatively high quantity of calcium and vitamin B-12 gives it a slight edge over clear gel and cornstarch. Tapioca is consumed every day in some parts of the world due to its high carbohydrate content.
Another reason why tapioca is a good option is that it doesn’t get spongy when frozen. Unlike clear gel and cornstarch. If you free a stew with tapioca starch it can easily be de frozen. However, clear gel is difficult to de-freeze and bring to the exact consistency.
3) Gum Arabic Powder
Another Gluten-free option instead of clear gel is Gum Arabic Powder. Not only is Gum powder a great binding agent, but it is also a great prebiotic. Gum Arabic Powder is fermented in the colon part of the stomach instead of getting digested in the stomach. It adds healthy bacteria to the body that is necessary for maintaining good health.
In the culinary domain, Gum Arabic Powder is a great stabilizer and helps in the emulsion as well. Unlike cornstarch which aids in cooking, gum Arabic powder is ideal for desserts and candies.
4) Spelled Flour
Spelt flour is used for hundreds of years as a staple diet. It is now very common among individuals who are trying to shed weight. Spelt can act as a thickening agent in a small capacity if used properly.
Spelt is not gluten-free, so before you use it in a recipe make sure you don’t serve it to someone with a gluten allergy.
5) Lecithin Powder
Lecithin powder is a relatively less common alternative to clear gel. Powdered lecithin is no traces of natural soyabean oil and considered oil-free. However, it makes great foams and acts as a wonder emulsifier.
Lecithin Powder is easy to dissolve and produces a fine consistency. But you cannot use Lecithin in every recipe, make sure you do your research before making this decision.
There are multiple alternatives to clear gel available in the market. If you want a healthy, gluten-free substitute then use Topaciao Starch which is packed with micronutrients. Then you have cornstarch which is among one of the oldest thickening agents. Cornstarch is ideal for gravies, stews, and soups.
If you want to replace clear gel in a dessert, then try Gum Arabic Powder as a replacement. Spelt flour is rich in nutrients and not full of empty calories, unlike the other substitutes. However, spelled flour has gluten in it and is not safe for people with gluten allergies.
Lecithin powder is also an option, but only for specific recipes.